Thank you Tapestry of Freedom Partners!

Organizations who partner on A Tapestry of Freedom to strengthen the fabric of our community:

9th Virginia Regiment, Civil War Re-enactors

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum

Administer Justice

Art for All

American Association of University Women

American Library Association Public Programs

Barnes & Noble, Springhill Mall

Bunte Auction Service

Cedarville Historical Society

City of Elgin Heritage Commission

City of Elgin Human Relations Commission

City of Elgin Veterans Memorial Committee

JPMorgan Chase

Courier News

Daily Herald

Downtown Neighborhood Association of Elgin

Elgin Area Historical Society and Museum

Elgin Academy

Elgin Community College

Elgin Community College, Black Student Association

Elgin Community College, Continuing Education

Elgin Public Museum

Elgin Today Cable Television

Fox Valley Citizens for Peace and Justice

Fox Valley Dental Society

Gail Borden Public Library Board of Trustees

Gail Borden Public Library Foundation

Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History

Global Village

Hamilton Wings

Holiday Inn – Chicago Northwest

Hudson Productions

Huntington Library

Kane County Health Department

Illinois School District U-46

Illinois State Library

Institute of Museum and Library Services

Lao Connection

Larkin High School’s Black History Club

League of United Latin American Citizens - Local Council #5236

League of Women Voters


MarketPlace Media Group

National Endowment for the Humanities

New Hope M.B. Church volunteers

Rainbow PUSH

St. Margaret Mary Polish School

St. Paul M.B. Church volunteers

Second Baptist Church

T.E. Bedford Choir

Trader John’s Outpost-Army Surplus

Willow Tree Studio

Youth Leadership Academy



Individuals who are weaving their time and talents into A Tapestry of Freedom to promote harmony, unity and respect in our community:


Mark Abate
E.C. (Mike) Alft
Charles S. Anderson
Debbie Anderson
Gerald Anderson
Joseph C. Anderson
Susan Angell-Case
Jo Ann Armenta
Henry Armstrong
Joan Arnal
Phil Asplund
Judge Manuel Barbosa
George Bauer
Jean Bednar
Danuta Bialecka
Dave Bobik
Dorothy Brandon
Bill Briska
Ernie Broadnax
Betty Brown
Dennis Bulat
Chang Bun
Kevin Bunte
Rachel Campbell
Tom Canon
Kone Chansey
Bennie Chapman
Jerry Chartrand
Dr. John Cooper
Dr. Maria Cordoba
Dr. James Cornelius
Jason Davis
Joseph DeFrier
Dr. Irina Del Genio
Larissa Desmit
John Devine
David Dick
Tricia Dieringer
Benjamin Downs
Rev. Nathaniel Edmundson
Jane Ehrenhart
Lucy Elliott
Crystal Evans
Annie Faulkner
John Fleener
Dr. Phyllis Folarin
Dan Fox
Karen Fox

Richard Fricke
Jennifer Fritz-William
Joseph Galvan
Tere Galvan
Ron Gibson
Sharon Gilbert
Laura Godinez
Herb Gross
Medina Gross
José Guzman
Karla Guzman
James Ham
Joan Hanover
Kathryn Harris
James Harvey
Douangchay Hedstrom
Erin Hegarty
Clarence Heine
Mary Hill
Darline Holland
Donald Hosling
Dave Hudson
Lloyd Hurlbert
Phil Jeleniewski
LaTrisha Jones
Dr. Risé Jones
Zeenat Khan
Felicia King
Halina Kopec
Stanley Kulesa
Robert Kwatick
Ron Lamz
Sharon LeCompte
George LeClaire
Mary Loechner
William Lytle
Richard McCarthy
Marina Makropoulos
Kennard Manchester
Elizabeth Marston
Verna Metz
Jeff Meyers
Bill Moylan
Sue Moylan
Rep. Ruth Munson
Cherie Murphy
Caren Nickelsen
Dr. Dale Nickelsen

Dr. Jon Nickelsen
John Niss
Senator Michael Noland
Dr. Carolyn O’Neal
Ana Ortiz
Martin Palma
Scott Palmer
Tom Pekny
Joyce Pellicore
Gigi Polycarpe
Janet Poyner
Bim Prathan
George Rawlinson
Audrey Reed
William Rhymes
Madeline Richmond
Arthur Richoz (deceased)
Linda Rock
Zelma Rodriquez
Louise Russo
John Sabo
Shirley Sadjadi
Dr. David Sam
Gordon Schnulle
Mayor Ed Schock
Elaine Scott
W.E. Scott
Paul Sellers
Marlene Shales
Perry Slade
Mike Smart
Wilde Sotomayor
John Steffen
Andy Stoll
Peggy Stromberg
Eric Stuehler
Dr. Raleigh Sutton
Anthony Tamosaitis
Anita Thompson
Glennette Tilley Turner
Jerry Turnquist
Johnny Vargas
Rosetta Williams
Jim Wire
Kathleen York
Connie Zapata
Mario Zapata
Jim Zingales


Special Thanks to the Tapestry Staff Team:

Carole Medal, Executive Director
Karen Maki, Deputy Director
Faith Brautigam, Director of Youth Services
Liz Clemmons, Project Assistant & Editor
Dave Considine, Facility Director
Jennifer Ford, Volunteer Coordinator
Pat Gebhardt, Director of Adult Services
Jessica Hammer, Assistant
Debbie Huffman & Jackie Diaz, Graphic Designers
Miriam Lytle, Program Coordinator and Tapestry Project Director
Mary Kozi, Graphics Assistant
Billie Moffett, Virtual Librarian
Denise Raleigh, Director of Marketing
John Ross, Security
Sara Sabo, Veterans History Project Coordinator
Joyce Schifferer, Hospitality
Jeff Spiess, Maintenance
Lisel Ulaszek, Young Adult Librarian
Terry Gordon and Maintenance Department
Marie Miguel, Teen Leader
Gladys Maldonado, Assistant Teen Leader
John Johnson, Security
Susan Lytinen, Technical Services
Betsy O’Connell, Director of Information Technology
Jim Dennison, Information Technology

...And the indomitable Gail Borden Library staff!

Funding for this grant was awarded by the Illinois State Library (ISL), a Division of the Office of Secretary of State, using funds provided by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), under the federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA).

Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under the Creative Commons Copyright.

Gail Borden Public Library District, 270 North Grove Avenue, Elgin, Illinois 60120
Phone: 847-742-2411 | Fax: 847-742-0485 | To Renew: 847-742-3210