Good Shepherd Lutheran Church

Good Shepherd Lutheran Church was formally organized in July 1939 when the near west side of Elgin began to be converted from farm fields to houses filled with people. The first church, now the parsonage, was built on Van Street and dedicated in 1939.  The need for a "new" church soon became apparent. Following a period of planning and construction, the new church was dedicated on November 30, 1952. This dedication booklet showcases the history of the church, the planning and construction process, and the explanations of the stained glass windows.

001.JPG 020.JPG 010.JPG