Free Tax Preparation Assistance through the Library

Although Gail Borden Library with partner Free For You Services will provide free tax preparation assistance through April 16, in-person help will not be available. Instead, customers can drop off their tax forms and information at the library during specified days and times. Customers will be contacted when their tax forms are completed and ready for pick-up.
Customers who qualify for the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance Program can drop off their forms in a locked drop-off box from 4 to 8 p.m. on Thursdays and from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Saturdays at the Main Library, 270 N. Grove Ave., Elgin. They will remain in the locked box until retrieved by the tax service.No appointment is necessary for drop off service.
Please contact Free For You Services at (224) 535-9856 with tax questions; for other VITA service questions contact the Information Services Desk at (847) 429-4680.


VITA preparation is available to people who generally make less than $58,000, persons with disabilities, and limited English-speaking tax payers. For more information visit


Federal & Illinois State Tax Forms

Electronic Filing Information

Below are some links to information about electronic filing.  At the present time, the library does not have any of the necessary software packages that enable elctronic filing.  The web-based e-filing services can be accessed in the Computer Center.  However, the library does not endorse, warrant or provide extensive support for those services.

Tax Form Websites For All States

 Alabama Hawaii Massachusetts New Mexico South Dakota
 Alaska  Idaho  Michigan   New York  Tennessee
 Arizona  Illinois  Minnesota  North Carolina  Texas
 Arkansas  Indiana  Mississippi  North Dakota  Utah
 California   Iowa  Missouri  Ohio  Vermont
 Colorado  Kansas  Montana  Oklahoma  Virginia
 Connecticut  Kentucky  Nebraska  Oregon  Washington
 Delaware  Louisiana  Nevada  Pennsylvania  West Virginia
 Florida  Maine  New Hampshire  Rhode Island  Wisconsin
 Georgia  Maryland  New Jersey  South Carolina  Wyoming